Another Way
 
    One of the great gifts of Busting Loose is the chance to re-invent ourselves on the playing field while we do the serious behind-the-scenes work through the Process. I'm seeing so many more possibilities that I didn't realize before.
    I think for most of us, it's not on the level of gee, I'd like to be President of the United States. And, in fact, who really wants that? What a pain in the ass. I can't imagine having to spend 16 hours a day dealing with politicians, radio talk show hosts, angry vegetarians and the cast of "Fantasy Island," aka North Korea.
    Frankly, as a guy and a Player, I'd rather grow up to be Johnny Depp -- all the notoriety and half the grief, 50 times the money, a 45-acre private island in the Bahamas, a creative outlet in the movies. Plus, I get to play a pirate. Arrgggh. Women, I'm thinking Oprah? Kate Winslett? Angela Merckel? I don't know, you tell me. We have plenty of creations to choose from.
    (Oh, then there's the guy whose "job" was to eat his way through the two most famous culinary regions of Italy  and decide which made the best food. Arrrggh indeed.)
    For me, it's started out on a little less grand level. it's a combination of realizing what I can play at now, and what I would like to discard. Sort of like the guy in a series of radio commercials for STP Oil, the "I don't wanna be that guy" guy. He laments not being able to do simple manly things like changing the oil in his car, home repairs or hunting. He knows more about cooking oil than motor oil. He wants to get grease on his hands.
    I can relate. I don't want to be that guy who looks at everything through the prism of whether he can afford it or not.
    I don't want to be that guy who sits in front of his computer 13 hours a day until his eyes bleed and his brain synapses fry because he's too lazy to get out of the house.
    I don't want to be that guy who cruises travel sites every day, but never books a flight anywhere.
    I don't want to be the guy who settles for a McDonald's hamburger when he could be eating sushi -- in Japan.
    I don't want to be the guy who uses coupons at the grocery store.
    I don't want to be the guy with basic cable when he could have HBO and Cinemax.
    I don't want to be the guy who takes his date to an art reception because there will be free food and wine.
    You get my point. Eventually, as I realize what I don't want to be, when I understand the limitations I've put on myself, then I can start playing in a bigger arena.
    For example, I've noticed a change in my response to the question, "what do you do?" No, I'm not answering, "I seek enlightenment through a process called Busting Loose, so that I can realize my true essence as an infinitely abundant and joyful being." I haven't quite come out of the closet in that regard.
    But now the answer is along the lines of, "Well, this week, I'm writing a screenplay and solving the newspaper crisis." Or "Today, I'm producing a television show and saving the non-profit arts community." Or "Next week, I'm launching an internet marketing campaign and I'm going to give the local music scene an international presence and make it bigger than Austin."
    I'm thinking bigger and more creatively. I don't want to confine myself. I'm realizing I'm more than just a persona defined by a certain set of skills and society's expectations -- and my own stories.
    Plus I get bored easily. So one crusade morphs into another depending on whether I'm still having fun with it. But I'm expanding as a Player in ways I would never have considered before. I'm approaching people I would never have approached, just for the fun of doing it, and asking for things I would never have asked for, for the same reason.    
    The response isn't even important. It's the taking the chance that is fun. 
    Understanding we are living in an illusion of our own creation is the mother of re-invention. So take a minute and think about what you're doing this week. Anyone for tennis and buying a villa in Tuscany? Thought so.
Bookmark and Share

Comments are closed.