Another Way
 
    For the last few days I've had an ongoing dialogue with friends and relatives about what keeps us from experiencing our innate abundance.
    I've come to the conclusion it's all in the water.
    Actually, it's in the glass.
    I realized the age old question "Is the glass half empty or half full?" is emblematic of the problem. It's a tired Phase 1 question, pitting two meaningless answers against one another.
    The correct answer is, the glass is always full, we just made up a story about spilling some on the carpet. (Or the more correct answer is, neither the glass or the water or the carpet exists. But then I wouldn't have anything to write about, would I?)
    This goes back to the fundamental principle of Robert Scheinfeld's Busting Loose. The choice is not to substitute one false perception with another false perception. It's to exchange limiting beliefs for the Truth. The Truth is the glass is always full, overflowing in fact, with joy and abundance.
    This little nugget arrived courtesy of conversations I had with my friend, Vickie, and my son Teo about intention and visualization. As we have learned, intention and visualization are not all they're cracked up to be. That's why practices like the Law of Attraction and voodoo don't work for most people.
    One, they're usually focused on changing the hologram, the home of all that is illusory. Two, the intention behind it all usually originates with the ego, or the Player, and not from Expanded Self -- and I, at least, rarely know what I really want. There's a chance your ego could be aligned with Expanded Self, just as there is a chance that hell will freeze over and Neiman-Marcus will build a store there.
    Three, it means that somewhere inside, we are not accepting what is. We have to visualize something "better," or at least different. That is, if not denying the Truth, then twisting it like a French braid and yanking on it.
    But not to despair, visualizing and intentioning have their place. As Vickie points out, these practices can be used wisely. So go ahead, envision the beachfront balcony in your $10 million home and the beautiful wife/husband/cohabitator and the travels to exotic places, and the successful business. (For those of you for which this is not an issue, you are free to duck out for a minute and have a cold one on the balcony.)
    Then sit back in your La-Z-Boy and watch the thoughts and listen to the tiny voices tell you why you're going to blow it again, why you are unworthy of such things, and then process the discomfort.
    Whether you achieve your intentions or visualizations is irrelevant, just as whether the glass is half full or half empty is irrelevant. What's important is to identify the beliefs holding you back and exchange them for the Truth. (See my recent column about that.)
    My son is experiencing this on a visceral level. He has created some great stories about relationships, Japanese women and the half-formed intention of finding a wife here in Japan. He related the experience of meeting an attractive young woman and her colleague in a taxicab recently, and listening to the cacophony that rattled his brain pan. In the course of a brief ride, one voice had them married and settled down with kids. The other had him rejected by the woman, who was probably already married and/or had a boyfriend. Of course, he recognized later that both alternatives were equally false.  
    But while that opera of intention, worthiness and doubt was playing on an endless loop, the fact is, he never got a word in edgewise, never got her name, and before he could exit the cab, she was gone. His beliefs ran over the experience of the Truth.
    Nevertheless, it was a great lesson in changing consciousness and not just changing cabs or listening to a different opera. When the internal roadblocks surface and cause us discomfort, do the process. Or as my son's guru suggests, take on the presence of that dissenting voice and become it for a while until you're laughing your butt off at the ludicrousness of it all.
    When you have Busted Loose, you may still have intentions, but it won't matter. At that point, money, partners, relationships, happiness and love will be flowing into your hologram. You won't have to ask and you won't even have to plan. At least that's my theory.
    I think that's what playing in Phase 2 is all about. You don't question your life circumstances any more. Things are arising so fast and you're having so much fun that it doesn't matter what any of it looks like.
    You're in alignment with your Expanded Self. You don't have to reach out for anything. You reach in.
    And while we're on the topic of glassware and the fluids that fill them, I have a question. Why is it always water? In my Phase 2 world, it might be rum-spiked egg nog one night, Yoohoo the next, Chateau Lafite Rothschild 1789 the next. Why settle for water? C'mon people, let's be creative.
 
    
    
    
    
   
Bookmark and Share
Simon
10/26/2009 06:38:14 pm

Really enjoying your blog Anthony, although I'm still having a hard time understanding most of the Scheinfeld stuff.

Did you see this article? There's a link to the full article in New Scientist, but there's some interesting Comments here: http://www.boingboing.net/2009/10/26/what-physicists-want.html

10/26/2009 10:35:40 pm

Dear Tony,

This is just so brilliant...you have me shaking my head, saying, "Yes, I do that..." and supporting me at finding the humor in it all. I am so grateful to have you in my hologram!

With much appreciation and laughter,
Vickie

Anthony
10/27/2009 12:07:00 am

Hi Simon,
Based on your comment I'm presuming you haven't read Busting Loose From the Money Game by Scheinfeld. If you have, nevermind. But if you haven't, I've got a column about the principles at http://anotherway.weebly.com/1/post/2009/07/what-to-preach-when-youre-not-preaching-to-the-choir-busting-loose-take.html
There's also a book review on this page
http://anotherway.weebly.com/1/post/2009/08/busting-loose-from-the-business-game-scheinfeld-turns-it-up-a-notch-with-new-book.html and if you go to my Busting Loose page on the site and scroll to the bottom, you'll find more information to help understand.
Thanks for the link by the way.Very interesting stuff.

Jane
10/27/2009 01:00:21 pm

"...At that point, money, partners, relationships, happiness and love will be flowing into your hologram...." ...or not...there in lies the mischief...truly accepting what is may or may not contain what we think is what we want.

Always we are thinking there is something more, better or improved...than what is. I just Love the human condition and the desire to intentionalize something better into reality.

I also love the example of Teo and all the stories in the mind that are far from what is happening. How often have we each been there? Humbling example. Thanks for sharing.

Simon
10/29/2009 01:26:16 am

Anthony - thanks for the reply. Actually I have read the Business Game a couple of times, and although a lot of it "feels" right, I can't help thinking that this is just my inherant laziness wishing it to be so, and that Robert is a bit too adept at selling his philosophy, having been involved in marketing his whole life.

I just don't believe that everything that we experience is our own invention, that seems crazy to me. I think Robert may well be in the right ballpark with his ideas, but big parts of it seem way too far-fetched to be The Truth.

I also don't like the fact that this is such a big industry for him - I listened to his justification on one of his videos, but it didn't ring true to me. If he was genuine he would give all his knowledge away for free and "let the universe take care of the details."

May I ask what stage you are at in the Phase 1/2 journey, and have you found your life to be changed greatly by it?

10/30/2009 05:46:05 am

Anthony,
I just found your site and am so enjoying it! Yes, you are my creation and appreciating that is easy, but wanted to say out loud how articulate, witty and on the money your words are. I am looking forward to enjoying this new support in my storyline!


Comments are closed.