Another Way
 
    I've been attending a truly interesting and enlightening conference the last few days called "The Language of Spirit."   There have been several notable presenters -- physicists David Peat (Blackfoot Physics) and Amit Goswami (What the Bleep Do We Know?), author David Abram (The Spell of the Sensuous) and James O'Dea, the former president of the Institute of Noetic Sciences, among others.
    But the purpose of the conference is the bringing together of western and Native American ways of knowing about science, consciousness, reality and related topics. The centerpiece is a three-day dialogue among some 20 participants from various backgrounds and countries, from quantum physicists to Aboriginal storytellers.
    The idea is not to debate, but simply to present various viewpoints on a given topic and see if some consensus can be arrived at.
    This year's focus has been on "Space and Place," and what that means from all these perspectives.
    The individual presentations and the group dialogue have prompted  a bunch of deep thoughts and reflections on how I experience my world.
    But first and foremost, the idea has come to me is that if I thought Busting Loose was radical, it's really got nothing on the worldviews of most of the participants.
    I guess where we would diverge is that the participants here, to a person, feel a sense of urgency to solve the world's problems, especially those associated with the environment.
    As I mentioned in a recent post, I don't feel that sense of urgency or even minor interest in most of this, because I've moved into the understanding that everything "out there" is truly made up and illusory. As I change my consciousness, the world around me changes accordingly.
    But as I listen to these passionate and intelligent people I've created, sometimes a shred of doubt begins to creep in. Is this some kind of message for me? Has my understanding and practice of Busting Loose caused me to become too cavalier about the whole concept of the world as illusion?
    I can see sometimes how taking a radical view could be a smokescreen for my apathy, and apathy is not high on the list of things that I want to bring to the world, illusory or not.
    I know that Robert Scheinfeld would say that if taking on a cause truly supports you in Phase 2, and you get fun or enjoyment out of pursuing some solution, then do it. There's nothing wrong with it. Just remember the cause and the solution are both illusions.
    But then I hear an Aboriginal woman talk about her people's sacred relationship to the land, and how that relationship nurtures the people and the land, and I almost feel obligated to wander the deserts of Australia with her on a walkabout.
    I should be concerned about world peace, right?
    The moderator, Leroy LIttle Bear, reminds us that to enter into this type of dialogue, it is necessary to get rid of our "tacit infrastructures" -- the concepts and beliefs that accumulate in us over time -- so that we can be ready to receive new knowledge from new places.
    (I must interject a note here. Leroy helped start these dialogues in 1992, and is one of the wisest and funniest people I know. After a participant related the experience of going to sleep and dreaming that he flew through his bedroom window, Leroy deadpanned, "Was it paneless?")
    This concept of "tacit infrastructures" obviously jibes with Robert's concepts, in that we humans tend to buy into the rules of games that we will never win while playing in the hologram. That's always a good ground for me.
    It seems to me that the divergence is on this question of beliefs, but not in the way you might think. Robert has encapsulated it well in his new book: we're not here to change beliefs, but to exchange them for the Truth. I'm hoping the group will move from simply wanting to change the beliefs of others to getting to the Truth in this dialogue.
    Leroy, who is Blackfoot, also explained how a particular problem might be resolved in a tribal setting. Someone would come to a relative or friend with a particular issue. The relative would present it to the talking circle and the elders would each speak their piece.
    But instead of the circle issuing a decree, the person who brought the problem to the circle would be asked to take the wisdom of the group with him and solve the problem.
    That's pretty much where I am as we enter the second day of dialogue. I'll be listening and learning and coming up with my own solution about just how involved I will be with the issues of the outer world. And if anybody knows of a cheap flight to Australia, let me know.     



    
    
    
   
Bookmark and Share
Burgy
8/10/2009 03:54:21 am

There is no Australia.

Sarah
8/10/2009 07:21:15 am

Your words are always wise and 'reach' me. What is resonating for me is that EVERYTHING is an illusion but what is the point of being at the amusement park and not playing on any rides.

You play with whatever game you want. Mine happen to be ones involving spirituality, understanding, laughter and love. Someone else may be playing lapdog to Robert, bondage, 'I am an Island'. You could play walkabout in Aussieland.

Knowing it is an illusion does not make it any the less meaningful.

Burgy
8/10/2009 08:02:39 am

Burgy
8/10/2009 08:04:46 am

Another thing you could do in fake Australia is sing the landscape into existence. Of course, you could do that here, too. We could use a few more spires on the Crest to encourage tourism, for one thing.

Jeanice
8/10/2009 05:19:16 pm

"Has my understanding and practice of Busting Loose caused me to become too cavalier about the whole concept of the world as illusion?"

What a profoundly important question. Does it serve us to become cavalier about what is happening in the world and what is happening to others? Is this what freedom is?

My feeling is that, while it might be useful for us to lighten up and not take things so seriously, it is also essential that we do not lose our humanity behind a smokescreen of indifference.

What is happening in the world matters. What AAOM is going through matters. While I'm in the hologram, I'm sure as heck gonna do my part to make it beautiful. Otherwise, why bother being here?

Jane
8/11/2009 10:09:22 pm

Oh, I love the contradictory nature of this human game. I have and sometimes do struggle with these very questions. But, in the end...there is no end...it is ever creating and changing...there in lies the angst. On and on and on...without end...just human perception of beginnings and endings.


Comments are closed.